NYRampage

Happiness. Short-term, stupid, self-interest.

Something you may not know about me…

I decorate cakes. There. I said it and my manliness is still in tact.

When I stopped brewing beer and started making homemade icing, I don’t know… oh… yes I do… when I had kids.

My skill level is just a hair above novice, but the consistent kudos I get from my family keep me going. I like to make them feel special; they deserve it. (plus it’s yummy)

My wife is actually the baker, I just decorate. It’s usually just a mix, though sometimes we “bash” it like I recently did for my daughter's 9th birthday. I simply added crushed Oreos to the batter before baking and it came out great. We served it with Oreo Cookies and Cream ice cream, of course.

I call April-May cake season, as I make cakes for at least 4 birthdays, plus sometimes Easter, Mother’s day and extended family.

Some are easier than others. Some are fun, some are frustrating. Although I had to say no to my sons request for a “Darth Vader with a light saber while bowling” idea, I don't think I disappointed him. Here are some samples:

Barbie CakeTriple Chocolate CakeBowling CakePresent Cake

The Barbie cake was the first time I got adventurous. (my wife made me fill in the cleavage *roll eyes*). The triple chocolate cake I made my own ganache and tried flowers for the first time.

You can see hi-res versions and a bunch more on Flickr

Tips for the best tasting cake.

  • Use Duncan Hines
  • Freeze the cake after it cools a bit
  • Frost it frozen and keep it frozen until a few hours before eating

And now, I’m going to go make a black and tan and eat some beef jerky.

May 22, 2006 - Posted by | Family

4 Comments »

  1. Holy crap! You made those?!

    I saw them on your Flickr account and thought you’d been at some cake expo or something.

    That’s some impressive decorating. Wow.

    Comment by Al Everett | May 22, 2006

  2. Now you’ve made me feel bad about my cake.

    http://blog.360.yahoo.com/blog-bfQyf5A2d6O4M6V001QI1b3DlPY6?p=71

    Comment by Naomi Everett | May 23, 2006

  3. […] due to the plethora of birthdays we celebrate this time of year. A year ago I told you about something you may not know about me. Now, check out these cakes:     These cakes were extra special for me, because I didn’t make […]

    Pingback by Cake and eat it too « NYRampage | June 7, 2007

  4. […] on the Evil Mad Scientist Laboratories blog. (I’ve mentioned the site before) Being a food art creator, and a cat lover as well,  I also liked the peeps and the 3D printed candy. Which reminds me of […]

    Pingback by The Nature of the Beast « NYRampage | March 6, 2008


Leave a Reply

