NYRampage

Happiness. Short-term, stupid, self-interest.

It’s a war of attrition, and I’m all out of Juicy Fruit

One of my neighbors was out in his backyard last year on his hands and knees stabbing at the ground with scissors. What in the world was he doing? I learned that he was trying to kill moles that were destroying his beautiful lawn. He’s nuts! (I thought, which is not a real stretch for this guy) His antics became the pun of many jokes over the past year.

I have moles in my yard as well, but they tend to stay away from the house and I only get annoying soft spots in the lawn. Then this spring, things changed. They were all over. They left huge mound of dirt, the grass died all over… now I have a problem.

Through research I learned the following:
• Moles eat earthworms as well as grubs, so solving a grub problem will not likely cure your mole problem.
• Moles don’t eat vegetation, so poisons are ineffective.
• Stamping down mole tunnels will only make them burrow deeper.
• Moles are blind and have very sensitive smell, they know to stay away from humans and other animals.
• My cats are more interested in curing my neighbors mole problems.
• Scare tactics are generally ineffective. (Remedies such as pickle juice, broken glass, red pepper, razor blades, bleach, moth balls, rose branches, human hair balls, vibrators, ultrasonic devices, Castor Oil, and explosives may relieve frustrations, but have little value in controlling moles.)
• A ChemLawn representative even told me about the Juicy Fruit trick. The theory is that the moles like the smell of Juicy Fruit gum, will eat it, but won’t be able to digest it. (don’t handle it with your hands)
• Traps are the most effective way to eliminate moles, but they are expensive and they come with their own set of problems. (like checking them, resetting them, finding the active tunnels, having them at the right depth, and getting them to work at all, etc.).

It is literally a war of attrition. You have to eliminate them or they will just keep multiplying. One good thing is that young moles only have a 50% chance of surviving to reproduce. I’ve seen lawns devastated in my neighborhood by moles and I’ve recently been trying to revitalize mine.

I’m not going to lose this war… I own a pitch fork.

June 5, 2006 - Posted by | Home Improvement

3 Comments »

  1. Saw something briefly on HGTV. Suggestion was made to use castor oil “pellets”. I don’t remember exactly what they were called, but moles and gophers hate the smell and it’s safe for your lawn. Doesn’t kill them, it just chases them away.

    Comment by Wrathchild | June 15, 2006

  2. I might give it a try, but $10 says my dog just eats them.

    Comment by nyrampage | June 15, 2006

  3. i need that improvement!

    Comment by rachael | January 22, 2007


Leave a Reply

