NYRampage

Happiness. Short-term, stupid, self-interest.

Family Fun Night

My wife came up with this absurd idea of “Family Fun Night”. Every two weeks, we reserve a week night evening to do something together as a family. We already sit down to dinner together each night. Like I’m not already busy enough. I figured I’d humor the idea long enough to show that it is too hard to pull off every two weeks, too much time, too expensive, and really not much “fun”.

I can publish those words because I get to eat them along with a bowl of crow.

Turns out, every Family Fun Night has been fun, and it doesn’t really cost that much. The first time we went to Chuck-E-Cheese, and with practically no one there, we had a blast, especially with the air hockey tournament. Another night, we went miniature golfing; another night we made these Crayola sugar cookies from a some kit we bought to support my daughter’s ballet; and last night we went to see Disney Pixar’s “Cars.” (Using some cheap Entertainment tickets)cars.jpg

Ice Cream also seems to be involved frequently, but who doesn’t like ice cream? For that matter, who doesn’t like Oreo’s? I think I’ve identified two universally loved foods.

But back on topic, “Cars” was great, just as all the Pixar films have been. It started off slow, but soon the magic came and it was great. The animation was nothing short of amazing, with the water, reflections & lighting. Am I the only geek who watched the entire second DVD of the making of The Incredibles?

Trivia: What is the name of Pixar’s lamp logo? (no cheating)

The voice acting in “Cars” is what stole the show for me. Paul Newman as Doc. Click and Clack, the Tappet Brothers made an appearance in their first movie. Larry the Cable Guy played Mater the tow truck. And of course it was filled with the subtle little puns from, the “Bugs”, a Lincoln Continental breakfast, the 1969 WV van “I’m telling you man, every third blink is slower”, to Mater’s “now that’s more fun than a tornado in a trailer park” (now, I don’t care who you are… dat’s some funny stuff right ‘dare)

June 30, 2006 - Posted by | Family, Movies, Tech

3 Comments »

  1. Uh…I watched the entire bonus DVD for The Incredibles.

    More than the amazing animation that Pixar does, I find it amazing that they always get the voice acting just right. In virtually every case, they’ve gotten the person who is just right for the character, and I’ve never been able to imagine any case where someone else would have done better.

    Comment by Wrathchild | June 30, 2006

  2. Isn’t the name of the lamp Luxo Jr.?

    Comment by Wrathchild | July 10, 2006

  3. Correctamundo. I have images of him (or his father?) in my graphics text books from college. Right around 1990, this stuff was just coming together. Luxo Jr. is now proudly displayed on the Pixar website, and is their logo.

    Comment by nyrampage | July 10, 2006


Leave a Reply

