NYRampage

Happiness. Short-term, stupid, self-interest.

Windows Vista Planning

Is anyone excited about Microsoft releasing a new version of Windows? I usually don’t care the least about the releases; it usually only means that I have to learn the new ins & outs, patch the bugs and security holes and upgrade my hardware.

I am, however, looking forward to Vista… a bit. I’ve been interested in Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005 which you can currently only buy pre-installed from a PC manufacturer. Vista will change that, allowing me, a PC enthusiast, to build my own PC with the hardware I want. But, I have a concern with pricing.

featured_article_new_04.jpg

I wish money were no object, but it is. Microsoft is not giving out any pricing information yet, but suspicions are that the higher end versions of Windows Vista, like Home Premium and Ultimate will be $200, maybe $300, may be more. If I have to pay $300 for Vista, there goes my savings from building my own; and, I might be better off buying a pre-built machine. I really don’t want to do that and if I’m forced to, I don’t know who is better, HP? Sony? Dell? Alienware? I’d just rather do it myself.

Any rumors on upgrade pricing? Is Windows XP Home Edition going to get me a discount on Vista Ultimate?

If anyone has good resources, podcasts, or the like on Vista/Media Center/PC enthusiast, I’m interested! (also any rumors on pricing)

July 17, 2006 - Posted by | Home Theater, Tech

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

