NYRampage

Happiness. Short-term, stupid, self-interest.

Books for Boys

captainunderpantscover.jpgMy son, now in 1st grade, has been bringing home this series of books called Ricky Ricotta’s Mighty Robot for a couple of years now. I’ve always enjoyed reading them for several reasons.

  1. The chapters are short so it is easy to put down and pick back up.
  2. They are somewhat amusing, even to an adult.
  3. They just read easy aloud; not all books do that.
  4. The author uses words and phrases that I use to use as a kid, but now I’ m too old and conformed to society to even think of them.
  5. Flip-o-rama (read it to see). (but it is totally ultra-cool)

Dav Pilkey is the author of the Ricky Ricotta books and many others. Recently, my son has been bringing home The Adventures Captain Underpants. However, I didn’t like the sound of it so much… Captain Underpants and the Big, Bad Battle of the Bionic Booger Boy, Part 1: The Night of the Nasty Nostril Nuggets??? My wife and I “banned” the Junie B Jones books from my daughter when she was younger because we thought Junie was rude and disrespectful. So, I read the first Captain Underpants book and the main characters in this book are also rude and pranksters. And now that my son reads on his own, I can’t easily mind how he interprets the text; so I should I ban these as well…?

Nah…. they are too dam funny! Come on… a hampster named Sulu who gets turned bionic by a Combine-o-tron 2000? Who doesn’t like that? The author does put in warnings, too:

Warning: The following chapter contains graphic depictions of a mean little boy getting spanked by a bionic hampster.

And it goes on… it is too funny. I think that is what makes it ok… it is so over the top, you know it is meant to funny, not immitated.

It’s not a double standard… is it?

November 10, 2006 - Posted by | Family

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

