NYRampage

Happiness. Short-term, stupid, self-interest.

Home Improvement Ineptitude

I use to feel so inept when I’m talking to another home owner who tells me all the work they have accomplished on their home. “We remodeled our kitchen”, “ We put in a hardwood floor in the living room”, “We remodeled the master bath and put in a Jacuzzi”, “We built a deck with a hot tub”. I’m so impressed, yet, I begin to feel incompetent because they tell me they did all these things over the summer. Not only that, they tell me how easy and perfect the job went.

I must be a moron! It takes me forever just to paint the trim on my house. How do these people have a full time job and spend time with their families and add a half-bath all in one week? I’ve been working on a pretty large project for over a year now, taking a 16 x 20 screen room and making it year round livable, and I’m not even close to done.

I grumble and kick myself in the ass to get a move on only to find out… these people didn’t remodel their bathroom…. they hired someone else to do it! Ohhhhhhh….. Writing a check is easy. So please, people, when touting how great a home improvement person you are, let it be known who actually did the hard part! Oh, and also mention how much you spent on it so I can tell you where I could have gone on vacation with that money.

For those of you in the same camp as I, I hope I made you feel better.

November 20, 2006 - Posted by | Family, Home Improvement

1 Comment »

  1. Well, you’ve got to be better than these guys.

    Comment by Wrathchild | November 28, 2006


Leave a Reply

