NYRampage

Happiness. Short-term, stupid, self-interest.

Video Games I Have Completed

kings-of-the-beach.jpgWhile I consider myself a big fan of video games, there are actually very few I have ever completed in their entirety. A game has to be so immersive to keep my attention for the length of time it takes to complete one; especially these days when some games can take from 8 to 50 hours (or more) to complete. In case you don’t know, video games continue to grow on a scale that rivals Hollywood movies. The production process and expenses are very similar. And so are the profits.

One reason I believe I don’t finish many video games is that I almost enjoy understanding the development, learning about the technological revolutions and watching the history of these games more than actually playing them.

diablo.jpgThe latest trend in video games is for them to never end, specifically MMO’s (Massively Multiplayer Online). These games typically charge a monthly fee ($10-15 on average) to be able to play; as long as you are interested in it, you can just keep paying to play. Since these games are designed to never end, I can’t really put them on my list because I can’t complete them. However, these games also typically have some sort of ranking system that eventually maxes out. If you can call that completing the game, then I can add PlanetSide to the list.*

So, here is the short list of games that I can remember playing in their entirety. For me to finish them, they must have been pretty good.

  • Adventure (Atari 2600)
  • Kings of the Beach (NES)
  • Double Dragon (Arcade)
  • Diablo (PC)dd_l2_boss.jpg
  • Half-Life (PC)
  • Half-Life 2 (PC)
  • Wheel of Time (PC)
  • Burnout 2 (GameCube)

These games don’t have a specific ending, but I have played them enough to call them complete.

  • PlanetSide (PC)
  • TrackMania Nations (PC)
  • Madden 2003
  • Civilizations III

[Edit: 2/7/06 – I forgot, I also completed Super Mario III on the NES… check these out, classic, two guitars, piano, bassoon, a capella, 11 string bass, flute, balalaika, — and just for fun…]

February 6, 2007 - Posted by | Gaming

2 Comments »

  1. Um, Civilization III has I think 5 specific endings. There are 5 ways to beat the game.

    Comment by zerza | March 25, 2008

  2. Um, I think you are correct. I’ve won the Space Race and eliminated my enemy. I don’t think I ever won diplomatically. But, I consider myself done with the game.

    Comment by NYRampage | March 25, 2008


Leave a Reply

