NYRampage

Happiness. Short-term, stupid, self-interest.

Commuting Down the Hall

On day like today, where there is a blizzard outside (literally), I really appreciate the ability to work from the home office. I especially like being able to dress down, make my own good coffee, and set the temperature in my office to exactly what I like.

storm.jpg

Since I consult, I am at different locations all the time and even though my commute is only about a 20-30 minute drive, I still have to pay to park and then make a long walk to wherever I’m going. Thank goodness for my MP3 player; you should get one if you don’t already. (just don’t drop it in a bucket of acid.)

Often, I am even more productive from home than at the office. With high speed Internet, VPN access to all the locations I work at, and a telephone, there is a lot that I can get done. It can’t, however, be a complete substitute for being on site because there are still things that are better done in person, and some things that can only be done on-site. But, working from home is an awesome benefit.

If you live in New York, you may be interested in these websites for traffic and weather:

February 14, 2007 - Posted by | Life in general

1 Comment »

  1. Alas, telecommuting is not an option for me, as I am a contractor for a Federal agency. They let employees telework, but not contractors. (It may just be this agency, or even just this division, but there you have it.)

    Snow would have been easier to deal with. We got snow, sleet, and freezing rain. I spent two hours chipping the crust off my walk and cars yesterday before making the trek in to work. I broke two ice scrapers and my back is killing me. The wife’s minivan still hasn’t gotten out. School is closed for the second straight day.

    At least we’re better off than people east of DC. They got all freezing rain and there are a lot of people still without power.

    Comment by Wrathchild | February 15, 2007


Leave a Reply

