NYRampage

Happiness. Short-term, stupid, self-interest.

Home Renovation – The Devil is in the Details

October 2005

Something you will often hear me say is, “the devil is in the details.” You see, it is easy to say, well, we can just run a wire there, or, we will just re-use the old material. But, when you actually get to that point you realize how difficult your initial thought will be to actually implement. This requires you to start thinking ahead about how your decision now will impact the next step, but it is difficult.
 
For instance, while framing, I just figured I’ll be able to run speaker and electrical wires over the door and around the corner to be able to get all the way around the room. But then to realize after taking down the old siding that there is no physical way to go above door without ripping out the entire framing and header. Not to mention that speaker wire and electrical wire should not be within 12 inches of each other if run in parallel. (the picture below shows a hint of my new solution which was to run conduit up into the attic and back down… but that is only a partial solution, and jumping ahead)

03-05-porch-pre-insulation-documentation-019_sm.jpg

It is just a continuously changing plan, but the plan isn’t scrap. As a matter of fact, you can’t change the plan if you don’t have one, and you can’t get started without one.
I didn’t document all the “devils” I came across, primarily because when I ran across them, I was hell-bent on correcting the issue as fast as possible to get back on track.

This kind of thing happened A LOT over the course of the project, but at this point I had my plan, materials, and a plan, and things were going pretty smooth and I was cruising…

03-porch-november-2005-07_sm.jpg

03-porch-november-2005-05_sm.jpg

March 12, 2007 - Posted by | Home Improvement

1 Comment »

  1. You’re a heck of a lot handier than me. I couldn’t have tackled this project.

    Comment by Wrathchild | March 12, 2007


Leave a Reply

