NYRampage

Happiness. Short-term, stupid, self-interest.

Porch Project – Cruising

{The continuing saga of the Porch Project}

November 2005

I was cruising at this point because I had not yet run into many “devils.” I even had a plan for the siding. You see, reusing old material was part of the plan to save some money. Thus far, I was able to reuse many of the 4×4 posts from the original construction, plus a ton a of 2×4’s. (by the way, you can click on any of these photos to see it at 640×480)

03-porch-november-2005-13_sm.jpg

03-porch-november-2005-14_sm.jpg

03-porch-november-2005-15_sm.jpg

03-porch-november-2005-17_sm.jpg

03-porch-november-2005-22_sm.jpg

I planned on saving the old siding and re-using all of it but I later realized there wasn’t going to be enough; a minor “devil”. But, after learning new skills at aluminum siding, I learned how easy vinyl siding was to put up. (The trick is getting your starting furring perfect and level)

03-porch-november-2005-26_sm.jpg

03-porch-november-2005-29_sm.jpg

Reusing the sliding glass door was also in the plan. It is a great door and probably worth $1500; I like it better than the new Andersen I have in my kitchen. But it was in November of 2005 that I got to the point where I needed the the door to be moved to the outside wall, but I knew very well that I would never have the floor and ceiling insulated before the cold weather moved in. That would leave a 6’ x 7’ hole in the side of my house exposed to upstate NY winter temperatures. I made the call to cover up with a tarp the last side and wait until the thaw of spring to face another step that would bring us deeper into the project and another point of no return; one with a simple deadline of next winter.

03-porch-november-2005-30_sm.jpg

March 19, 2007 - Posted by | Home Improvement

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

