NYRampage

Happiness. Short-term, stupid, self-interest.

Credit the HTGuys

Recently, my blog post on the Top 20 Reasons Why Home Theater Beats the Movie Theater Hands Down received a lot of attention from the listeners of the HTGuys’ Podcast #164. (16:10 is time index if you don’t want to listen to the whole thing) I got a kick out of listening to Ara and Braden review my list; I don’t think they realized that I have been a long time listener. (Probably because this is my somewhat anonymous blog, as opposed to my real blog, Hop-Talk.com… Ara may be interested)

I first mentioned the HTGuys back in July of 2006 and again on How to Find a Good Podcast. The HTGuys are the #1 rated technology podcast at Podcastalley. I haven’t missed a show; it is the perfect thing to listen to on the drive to work.

In Podcast #140 I had asked a question on behalf of my neighbor who had recently purchased a 46″ LCD TV right before the Super Bowl and was having trouble with the aspect ratio when watching high definition. Braden’s suggestion was to check the set top box (that’s the cable box) and make sure the output was configured for the correct resolution and sure enough that fixed the problem. (thanks!) (too bad about ‘dem Bears; though they did better than my team)

The HTGuys have also answered several of my questions that have helped me continue my home improvement project, which is my new home theater room. For the last few months now, I’ve been releasing a post every Monday that chronicles the story of this project, which is still not complete at the time of this posting, but is coming along nicely. Every step of the way I am planning for a great room with a great home theater, which is why when I am sitting in a shell of a room I am reading up on Dolby technology.

The HTGuys have also peppered my own short lists with the components I eventually hope to have incorporated, such as the Harmony remote, a Yamaha receiver, and possibly the HP MediaSmart Server. Although it may be awhile before I’m actually installing and upgrading my home theater (I’m embarrassed to list my current components), I do plan on making Windows Vista a key component of the system with a custom built computer and so hopefully I’ll be able to impart some knowledge, advice, or lessons learned to Ara and Braden.

So, being such a big fan, I have to give the HTGuys partial credit to the top 20 list, if for nothing else, they inspired me to write it in the first place. Many of the reasons on the list have been talked about on the show at one time or another.

I did leave off #21 – You can build an outdoor home theater and do all of the above in your pool. Well, as they pointed out, you can’t really do all of those items in your pool…

Oh, and buy them a cup of java...

April 24, 2007 - Posted by | Home Improvement, Home Theater

2 Comments »

  1. *woot*

    you’re famous 🙂

    Comment by Max | April 25, 2007

  2. You have the natural advantage in creditor debt settlement , which may be appropriate for debtors with …
    Great Solution

    Comment by Valerusd | December 1, 2007


Leave a Reply

