NYRampage

Happiness. Short-term, stupid, self-interest.

Home Renovation – Crunch Time

September 2006

“Simple deadline of next winter”… HA! Not at that rate. The impending winter was my deadline to have the room insulated and heated so that I could continue to work on the room in the cold months, and more importantly, so that I wasn’t trying to heat the outdoors. (“Do you live in a barn?” my father would always say to me when I left the door open)

Thus, it was crunch time! The correct order for doing this would be:
1) Insulate the walls
2) Extend the ceiling joists (a project I’ll explain in the future)
3) Install air channels in the ceiling
4) Insulate the ceiling
5) Hang the sheetrock
6) Tape & mud the sheetrock
7) Maybe even paint
8) Build a hearth for the stove
9) Install the stove…

Hmmm… install the stove… I wondered how long that would take? I also questioned my ability to install the stove, especially for meeting code and all. I read the instructions, I probably could have done it myself, but… installing the stove is like playing with fire and I would just sleep better at night knowing a professional made sure everything was going to meet code. Oddly, what scares me even more than fire is water. I have tackled plumbing before, but the one thing I have learned is that if water wants to get somewhere, it will. Thus, the idea of cutting a hole in a perfectly good roof for the chimney (vent) scared the heck out of me. The last thing I wanted was to have the spring snow melt and find its way under the flashing and drip down in to ruin all of my hard work. Thus, another good reason to have a professional install the stove.

The professionals were scheduling a month out and were getting busier every day, so I scheduled the installation for mid-October. Now I had a new deadline and there was no way I would be able to get that list done before then. So, I figured out what was the minimum I needed to do which was just enough insulation to do just enough drywall to get started on the hearth. That was quite a bit, actually, but I got it done by mid-September.

08-fal-06-insulation-started-005_sm.jpg

08-fal-06-insulation-started-003_sm.jpg

Now I needed a hearth for the stove. Technically, I didn’t need much of a hearth as the stove could be as close as 2 inches from the drywall because is it a direct-vent, completely enclosed unit. But, we wanted the hearth to be something special; something that added to the ambiance of the room; make it look as real as possible. Since this focal piece was going to be there forever, we wanted it to look great and do it right.

Yep, I just have to build a hearth.

…I wonder how you do that?

April 30, 2007 - Posted by | Home Improvement

1 Comment »

  1. […] » Bamboo wood .. jBLØG » Blog Archive » What a difference a day makes &#8230.. Home Renovation – Crunch Time « NYRampage news » Blog Archive » news » Blog Archive » Inn the Zone « InnStyle […]

    Pingback by Easy Tips To Follow For Barn Home Renovations | October 7, 2007


Leave a Reply

