NYRampage

Happiness. Short-term, stupid, self-interest.

Home Renovation – Stove Install

October 2006

It is a great feeling to wake up and know that despite the cold damp weather, within the next 8 hours, I would have a working furnace for my room. This would be another huge milestone, even though I would still not be ready for winter.

I was very happy with the contractors. They were nice, cleaned their workspace, and efficient. They consulted me on a few things where choices needed to be made. For instance, when they ran the gas line they asked if I wanted a ‘T’ installed in case in the future I decided to change my real fireplace to natural gas as well. (Yes, of course)

I tried to leave them alone to get their work done, so I don’t have pictures of the progress. But, I have photos of the results and I was thrilled with how it all came out.

10-05-hearth-phase-3-and-sheetrock-015.jpg

By design, the flame size grows larger after the stove warms up in just a few minutes and turns yellow for a more realistic look.

10-06-hearth-phase-3-and-sheetrock-016.jpg

10-07-hearth-phase-3-and-sheetrock-017.jpg

I’m so glad they were the ones to cut a hole in my perfectly good roof.

10-08-hearth-phase-3-and-sheetrock-018.jpg

10-11-hearth-phase-3-and-sheetrock-014.jpg

10-14-hearth-phase-3-and-sheetrock-025.jpg

There isn’t much to write about when you just hire a contractor, except maybe the price, which was almost as much as the stove itself. But again, it was well worth it for knowing that it was done right; no gas leaks to worry about or water leaks from the vent going out my roof.

I hooked up my thermostat and cranked up the heat. Beautiful. Of course, the heat was just pouring out my ceiling.

May 28, 2007 - Posted by | Home Improvement

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

