NYRampage

Happiness. Short-term, stupid, self-interest.

Moles and Juicy Fruit

I don’t really watch the stats for my blog, but it is fun to take a look every once in awhile. Lately, the home improvement articles have received quite a bit of traffic, specifically people looking to figure out how to remove grout from slate.

However, by far, the most popular article was one I posted almost a year ago… people want to know how to kill moles with Juicy Fruit gum.

sweeneys_mole_killer.jpgI guess it is time for a follow up because I am still battling these bastards. I never tried the Juicy Fruit trick as I doubt it works, or if it does, I doubt it is very efficient. I have made some progress using a poison called Sweeney’s Mole and Gopher Poison Peanuts. You can get it at Wal-Mart and it comes in a conical bottle. Just follow the directions. The only thing it doesn’t tell you is how much of the tunnels you need to treat, so I treat them end to end, and several places in between. I think the trick is not to collapse the tunnels because you don’t want them making new tunnels, rather, use the current ones and thus come across the bait/poison. I also have made the assumption that every time I see new tunnels and activity, that mean time to treat again because they are not using my baited tunnels anymore.

This seems to have worked in at least one spot in my yard. I had very obvious new activity in a discrete location, treated twice based on activity, and it has been several weeks now without any activity.

I am currently battling a much bigger area where I also seem to be making progress. Wish me luck!

June 5, 2007 - Posted by | Home Improvement, Life in general

24 Comments »

  1. The Juicy Fruit trick really does work and is indeed effective.

    Comment by Mary | November 14, 2008

  2. The best success I have had with getting rid of moles is using the bait and applicator from http://www.mole-be-gone.com

    Hope this helps!

    Comment by Mole Bait | January 11, 2009

  3. Do you chew the gum first or just put it the tunnels?

    Comment by Glenda Pratcher | June 24, 2009

  4. hi;
    Moles and juicy fruit gum.

    Well I tried everything else. Nothing worked. I then poked a hole and inserted the gum. The moles readily ate the gum. I then stepped on the tunnels . I will go out again this evening and see if they have re tunneled or if they died . May take a while for them to die so I will step on the tunnels again if the re dig them.
    Will send update when I have more info.

    Comment by marcus killion | July 24, 2009

  5. Juicy fruit gum update .

    It worked ! one stick in the hole. next day, no mole. beet the crap out of that 25 bucks I spent on other stuff. one dollar for a pack kills a lot of moles.

    Comment by marcus killion | July 28, 2009

  6. by the way, just poke a hole in the tunnel with your finger and drop in a stick of gum. no need to chew it first. But I do recommend chewing a stick as is tastes sooo good.

    to check for moles just dig up their tunnel . A small hand full of dirt. leave open. They will come by shortly and fill in the hole , not completely but just kick dirt over the actual tunnel opening.

    Comment by marcus killion | July 28, 2009

  7. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was curious what all is required to get setup? I’m assuming having a
    blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100%
    certain. Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated. Appreciate it

    Comment by mole day | June 24, 2013

  8. excellent issues altogether, you simply received a new reader.
    What would you suggest about your publish that you simply made some days in the past?
    Any positive?

    Comment by muscle maximizer method | June 25, 2013

  9. Hi there! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to take a look.
    I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Outstanding blog and wonderful design and style.

    Comment by government tax benifits | July 4, 2013

  10. Amazing issues here. I’m very happy to peer your article. Thank you so much and I’m taking a look ahead to touch
    you. Will you please drop me a mail?

    Comment by natural carpet cle | July 10, 2013

  11. This piece of writing is genuinely a nice one it assists new web visitors, who are wishing in favor of blogging.

    Comment by kitchen cabinets | July 12, 2013

  12. I have to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning
    this website. I am hoping to see the same high-grade content from
    you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to
    get my own website now 😉

    Comment by used systems furniture | July 15, 2013

  13. I know this site provides quality dependent articles or reviews and other material, is there any other web page which presents
    these stuff in quality?

    Comment by business finance | July 25, 2013

  14. I’m extremely impressed with your writing abilities as well as with the layout to your weblog. Is this a paid topic or did you modify it yourself? Either way stay up the excellent quality writing, it is uncommon to peer a nice weblog like this one nowadays..

    Comment by manage business finances | July 25, 2013

  15. Nice post. I used to be checking constantly this blog and I am inspired!
    Very useful information specifically the last part 🙂 I handle such info a lot.
    I used to be looking for this certain information for a long
    time. Thank you and good luck.

    Comment by trade show programs | July 28, 2013

  16. You really make it seem really easy along with your presentation however I find this topic to be really
    one thing which I feel I would by no means understand.
    It seems too complex and extremely broad for me. I’m taking a look forward in your next submit, I’ll try to get the hold of it!

    Comment by furniture piece | July 30, 2013

  17. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles.

    I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I am quite certain I will learn many new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

    Comment by pope's new twitter account | July 30, 2013

  18. My partner and I stumbled over here by a different website and thought I might check things
    out. I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to looking into
    your web page again.

    Comment by business finance | July 31, 2013

  19. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is truly informative.
    I am going to watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if you continue this in future.

    Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    Comment by high class | August 2, 2013

  20. This is my first time pay a visit at here and i am truly happy to
    read everthing at single place.

    Comment by medicare supplement | August 2, 2013

  21. Pretty! This was an extremely wonderful post. Thanks for providing this info.

    Comment by job description | August 17, 2013

  22. You actually make it seem really easy with your presentation however I in finding this topic to be really something that I think I would by no means understand.
    It kind of feels too complicated and extremely extensive for me.
    I’m taking a look ahead on your subsequent post, I’ll
    try to get the hold of it!

    Comment by civil aviation safety | August 19, 2013

  23. We stumbled over here by a different page and thought I may as well check things out.
    I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to exploring your web page
    for a second time.

    Comment by roof polycarbonate | September 4, 2013

  24. Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your blog on my
    iphone during lunch break. I love the information you provide here and
    can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised
    at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, great blog!

    Comment by dating advice | September 14, 2013


Leave a Reply

