NYRampage

Happiness. Short-term, stupid, self-interest.

Cake and eat it too

Spring means cake time at our household due to the plethora of birthdays we celebrate this time of year. A year ago I told you about something you may not know about me. Now, check out these cakes:
katies-first-butterfly-cake-001.jpg   katies-ladybug-cake-for-pop-pop-010.jpg
These cakes were extra special for me, because I didn’t make them. I have a new apprentice in the house, Katie, my 10 year old daughter, and this year she was teaching me.

As part of an “After School Fun” program, Katie took a cake decorating class and made the dragonfly cake above. Then, for her grandfather, she made a very special lady bug cake that she let me help her make. I was surprised at how many things she was able to teach me. (hey… I’m supposed to be the one who knows everything!) The little tricks she showed me were very helpful over the next few weeks where I was in charge of making the cakes, though I was happy to have the help of both my children in making them.

This cake was for my wife’s birthday; daisy’s are her favorite flower. It was a lemon cake with lemon icing.
kims-lemon-daisy-cake-006.jpg   kims-lemon-daisy-cake-012.jpg

I didn’t have a lemon icing recipe so I improvised based on the standard butter cream icing recipe. I loved it; others thought it was a little too lemony. Here it is:
2 lbs confectionary sugar (sifted)
1 cup white Crisco shortening
1 cup butter
2 tsp lemon extract
zest of one lemon
2 Tbsp lemon juice

In a mixer, cream butter, shortening, extract and lemon zest. Slowly, mix in the sugar; it should chalky looking. On high, whip in the lemon juice until creamy and fluffy.

To tone it down a notch, I would probably not use the lemon juice at the end and use the standard milk to thin and fluff the icing. (The other option to tone it down would to go back to the vanilla extract instead of the lemon extract)

My son got a soccer ball made from a specialty baking pan. These cakes, frosted with just dotted stars are the easiest to make.
matts-soccer-cake-006.jpg

This cake was extra big for a party where we celebrated everyone’s birthday and it had vanilla pudding between layers. All of the flowers were leftovers from the previous cakes.
birthday-party-weekend-cake-002-1.jpg

This last one I made on my own, inspired by a Wilton designed cake, and it was a huge hit at Katie’s sleepover birthday party where each girl had their own, custom made, matching face on a pillow they were able to eat. They were all very excited to “decapitate and eat their own head”. In honor of Mistoff, I put him sleeping on Katie where he spent the greater part of his day.
katies-10th-birthday-sleep-over-party-and-cake-015.jpg   katies-10th-birthday-sleep-over-party-and-cake-084.jpg

In April and May, I get to make cakes and eat them too. (and lots of it!)

June 7, 2007 - Posted by | Family, Food & Drink, Life in general

5 Comments »

  1. Dude, you have talent.

    Comment by Wrathchild | June 7, 2007

  2. OK, I’m feeling guilty about Drew’s plain chocolate cake last weekend but inspired for the girl’s upcoming birthdays. I’m mighty impressed!

    Comment by Laura | June 13, 2007

  3. Thanks guys!

    It helps to have all the tools which over the years I’ve now collected quite a few (many as gifts, like the tackle box of icing tips, food coloring, plus real cake pans).

    Comment by nyrampage | June 15, 2007

  4. […] blog. (I’ve mentioned the site before) Being a food art creator, and a cat lover as well,  I also liked the peeps and the 3D printed candy. Which reminds me of the very cool […]

    Pingback by The Nature of the Beast « NYRampage | March 6, 2008

  5. Hello! I saw your darling slumber party cake when I was searching for slumber party cake ideas for my website. I’d love it if you would share your cakes with my visitors on my website. I’d be happy to create a link back to your site from each page for you if you wish.

    Your cakes are darling!

    http://www.easy-party-ideas-and-games.com/birthday-cake-ideas.html

    Happy New Year!
    Lisa

    Comment by Lisa | January 2, 2009


Leave a Reply

