NYRampage

Happiness. Short-term, stupid, self-interest.

Home Improvement – The light at the end of the tunnel

September 2007

First up coming back from vacation, aside from school starting, work, playing soccer, the gym, coaching soccer, birthday parties, open houses, playing Russian chauffer with the kids ballet, basketball, and what seems to be an inordinate amount of doctor’s appointments and check ups… Ok, so playing soccer and the gym are gone for the foreseeable future, the rest I will have to work around.

But… I could see it done. The path to completion is within my grasp. Unfortunately, I’m not entirely in control of my own destiny.

I needed to return the lights I bought because they were damaged and missing a mounting bracket. They were special order, so that will take a couple weeks so I can’t work on that. That also delays the schedule for hooking up the circuits at the circuit box, something I’ve never done before.

I got right to trying to put the trim up. I started with the casement trim which is to be painted to match the windows.
sep-trim-003.jpg

Oh, and by the way, you can’t barrow someone’s tools forever, so when you have a tool that you use all the time for about a year, you should just buy it. Besides, I couldn’t let needing to return the nail gun stop me now. And so I now own a Paslode. (And let me tell you, if time were money, it’s been paid for.)
sep-trim-001.jpg

I worked like the Energizer Bunny and put up the trim on the windows. I can’t do the doors and base trim until the tile and carpet are finished. (Oh my… I need to lay a tile floor)

The trim I put up on the upper windows I had to design as I went, and I didn’t love it. It needed some modification that was going to require re-ripping, re-staining, and re-sealing more pieces. Well, ok, it wasn’t that many pieces and this would be the last time I’d have to do it.
back-from-vacation-005.jpg

I did all that on my own, in 4 days, during the week… not too shabby. Why such a rush? I wanted the whole weekend for laying the tile.

September 28, 2007 - Posted by | Home Improvement

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

