NYRampage

Happiness. Short-term, stupid, self-interest.

Home Improvement – A Whole Weekend

September 9, 2007

A whole weekend is actually just one day. Kids sports take up the entire Saturday and I somehow have to put this down between the patio door and the entrance.
tile-001.jpg

We put down the backer board with thin set, screwed, and taped all the seams Saturday evening.
tile-006.jpg

I actually had saved myself one day back in the summer when I didn’t know what to work on, so I figured out how the backer board needed to be cut with the precise dimensions to fit the tile. The backer board seams can’t line up with the floor seams, and I wanted a minimum number of seams. I also realized that the back board I had left over from the hearth project was not enough to finish and so that required one my many, many, many trips to Home Depot. It was a hot and humid day that day I cut that backer board… a lot of sweat and blood.

But that saved me, because it only took an evening to put it down. Sunday, we put down the tile. I got to use the wet saw again; boy that thing is great. I made one practice cut and I didn’t make any mistakes along the way. Not bad.
tile-013.jpg

Laying the tile went pretty smooth; it actually goes pretty quickly. I would need to wait 24  hours before grouting, which I did the following Monday night. Grouting is the tougher part of the project, but I didn’t make the same mistake I did with the hearth. I used my cake decorating talents to bag it in so there was less clean up on the surface of the tile.
tile-019.jpg

When I was done, I was done. And, the best part…? I didn’t destroy my MP3 player in the process!

September 30, 2007 - Posted by | Home Improvement

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

