NYRampage

Happiness. Short-term, stupid, self-interest.

Don’t Pay Too Much for HD Cables

An HDTV is coming soon and so I want to make sure I have all the right cables for all of my toys. The home theater room I built has conduit in the wall so I can completely hide all of my cables but because of that, some of the cables need to be a little longer than a standard 6 foot cable.

I could just pick up the cables at the store, but buying online at the right place can save a bit of money. How much money…? Check out these two shopping carts:

Bust Buy
best-buy-cables.jpg

MonoPrice.com
monoprice-cables.jpg

I first heard about MonoPrice.com on the HTGuys podcast… with that savings, I’m going to buy them a cup of coffee.

November 3, 2007 - Posted by | Home Improvement, Home Theater, TV

2 Comments »

  1. Great advice. Cables are a grand scam. It is ironic that cables for digital signals don’t need to be expensive.

    Analog cables for audio and component video are a *little* more worthwile, but still generally massively overpriced.

    Comment by Shane | November 6, 2007

  2. I’m so glad I came across your site. Cables, wall outlets, etc… were going to cost a fortune. Thanks for putting me on to Monoprice.com. They even have what I was looking for to accomodate a 7.1 setup.

    Comment by Bill | December 21, 2008


Leave a Reply

