NYRampage

Happiness. Short-term, stupid, self-interest.

Cake Season 2008 – Tropical Cake

For my daughter’s 11th birthday, she had a tropical themed sleepover party. The American Girl Doll party kit color scheme gave me my inspiration.

Fondant is so easy to work with, anyone can look like a pro; but, I find most people don’t like the taste. My work around is to go heavy with the buttercream undercoat and roll the fondant thin. My wife requested her next cake to be buttercream only (which I plan to do sometime this summer since her birthday got buried this spring).

May 23, 2008 - Posted by | Life in general

2 Comments »

  1. That cake is so bright it actually hurts my eyes!

    On a PS topic. I logged on briefly today and saw you and AM had played about 2 weeks ago!

    If I can get my computer to be right with the world I’ll try to set up a time with you when we can play. E-mail Bro!

    Comment by GreatEqualizer | June 5, 2008

  2. I want you to know i had to throw a shower for my bestfriend. I searched the internet looking for the right laua type cake for her. And i fell in love with yours! I sent a picture of it to my baker. And after she charged me $100 to make it and then screwed it up completely she told me that it was a $250 food network cake, not your average bakery cake..lol.. i’ll post her pic. I did request it be made out of whipped iceing. I know it sounds hard to pull off. But i gave it a shot.. i’ll also post my pic..
    ( this is her’s)

    (this is mine)

    Comment by Amanda | April 21, 2009


Leave a Reply

